Clause Overwrite Restrictions

Modified on Mon, 19 Oct at 12:55 AM

Clause overwrite restrictions allow account administrators to control which connected clauses can be overwritten by general and restricted users.


How to Enable Clause Overwrite Restrictions

In order to enable the restriction, first select ‘Settings’ in the ‘More’ menu

On the resulting page, scroll down until you reach the ‘Register Settings’ section

Click to check the 'Restrict clause overwriting to responsible party' checkbox 

Clause overwriting restrictions are now active in your account


When Clause Overwrite Restrictions are Active

When clause the restriction is active (checkbox is checked), general and restricted users will see the following message on the ‘Clause Review’ page

When they perform and overwrite action, child clauses will be overwritten only if one of the following is true:

  • The user is assigned as the responsible party

  • The user is a member of the team that is assigned as the responsible party


If neither of these conditions are met for a child clause, it will be ignored (not overwritten).  


A Note on Admins

Account admins are not subject to the restriction. They will not see the message on the clause review page, and will still be able to overwrite child clauses even if they are not assigned as the responsible party. 

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Thank you for your feedback

Let us know how can we improve this article!

Select at least one of the reasons
CAPTCHA verification is required.

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article